The Lagos Chapter of the Nigerian Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (NIEEE) first came to being in the year 2003 with Engr. Adeyemi Kings piloting the affairs and later by Engr. H. A. Ajibade, between 2004 – 2005. However, it can be said that the Chapter had existed more or less as the part of the Electrical Division of the Nigerian Society of Engineers (NSE), operating then as the National body of the Division, from creation up until about 2009. The Electrical Division, as the first professional Division of NSE itself, was formed in 1986 by a group of notable Electrical Engineers, Corporate Members of the NSE, led by the Engr. (Dr.) Olusegun Ajayi (FNSE), who then became the first chairman of the Division. He later move on to also become one of the past presidents of the NSE as a whole.

On the 12th of October 2006, at the Annual General meeting (AGM) of the then Electrical Division, members unanimously voted to change the name of the Division to “The Nigerian Institution of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (NIEEE)”. The name was approved by the Council of the Nigerian Society of Engineers (NSE), and Engr. Bola Odetokun (FNSE, FNIEEE), being the National Chairman then, thus became the first Chairman of the Division turned Institution (NIEEE). At about this time also, the issues of establishment of the Chapters of the Division/Institution in other states and cities outside Lagos came into existence with the formation of the likes of Ife, Akure, Warri, Kaduna Chapters etc. Hence in 2008, during the tenure of Engr. Femi Olaniyan (MNSE)as the (second) National Chairman of the Institution, the idea of recreating  the Lagos Chapter as a distinct, (autonomous) operational body different from the National in Lagos was muted and discussed. The National Executive Committee eventually took the initiative to go ahead with the idea, and Engr. C.O. Ayo-Ariyo (MNSE), a member of the National Executive then was mandated to midwife the formation process of the Chapter.

This became necessary also as a way of reviving the spate of activities of the Institution generally and facilitating members’ participation in Lagos in particular. It took a while actually getting to decide on a convenient date and place to convene the meetings start off.

Eventually, the Lagos Chapter commenced meeting (its maiden meeting) on Saturday, 21st February, 2009 at the PHCN Shomolu District office, Moyosore House, Onipanu B/Stop, Onipanu, Lagos. The Chapter meetings continued consistently thereafter on the 3rd Saturdays of the month for a while but had since been changed to every 2nd Saturdays of the month which is still in force till date.

The meeting venue at a point also moved from PHCN office at Onipanu to the then NIEEE Resource Centre, 371 Borno Way, Alagomeji, Yaba, Lagos. However, when the Resource Centre location above was about to be given up, the Chapter was opportune to relocate to the Nigerian Railway Corporation (NRC) Technical Training Institute, at their Headquarters in Yaba (close to the NTA Channel 10 at Tejuosho), where it holds its monthly meeting regularly till May 2017 when it relocated to the NRC Loco Hall with the same vicinity till May 2019 when it relocated to Lagos Energy Academy (within the compound of Lagos State Electricity Board) at Public Works Yard, Old Secretariat Road, Ikeja till date.

The Chapter stated off under the Chairmanship of Engr. C.O. Ayo-Ariyo (MNSE) with about four protem- Executive Committee members nominated from the meeting of February 2009 but by Saturday, 11th June, 2009, an election exercise was conducted and an 8-member Executive Committee was formed in line with the stipulated bye-laws of the Institution, where Engr. Wasiu Adedoyin Salami (MNSE), was formally elected as the first General Secretary of the Chapter.

The first year of the Chapter was principally spent on an aggressive but consistent membership drive and creation of awareness especially through the existing NSE Branches in Lagos State (Ikeja, Lagos, Apapa, Victoria Island and Egbin); and the meeting graciously recorded a progress increase from an average attendance of 12-15 members. Today the monthly meetings record an average of 50 members. We acquired an office secretariat in 2015 which is now fully operational with an Admin Officer in place. The publication of our technical magazine had been successful as we have since obtained an international Standard Serial Number, ISSN from the National Library for the magazine.


To be the leading and most credible professional institution of first choice


To promote professional competence and excellence among members through innovative contribution and development of sustainable solutions to challenging engineering problems by deploying efficient technologies and systems for the benefit of mankind.